Grace Library is open 24/7! The third floor of the University Commons is accessible to all students, faculty, and staff at all times.
When looking for books on counseling, an excellent place to start is at the library home page or use the Discovery search box below to enter in keyword terms (such as psychotherapy, counseling, or therapy). Limit your by clicking Books before clicking Search.
The Art and Science of Mindfulness by
Intention is fundamental to any project, endeavor, or journey. Related to intention is the concept of mindfulness -- the awareness that arises through intentionally attending to oneself and others in an open, caring, and nonjudgmental way. Authors Shapiro and Carlson draw from Eastern wisdom and practices as well as Western psychological theory and science to explore why mindful awareness is integral to the therapeutic healing process and to show clinicians how to connect with this deeper awareness. This second edition is an accessible discussion of the fundamentals and also contains new sections describing the latest research on the neuroscience of mindfulness and mechanisms of change. Integrating the art and science of mindfulness to inspire greater well-being in both clinicians and their patients, this volume bridges a gap between therapist and patient, reminding us that we are all human beings wanting health, happiness, and freedom from suffering.
Contemporary Theory and Practice in Counseling and Psychotherapy by
This comprehensive, topically arranged text provides a contemporary account of counseling theories as practiced by internationally acclaimed experts in the field. Each chapter covers the way mindfulness, strengths-based positive psychology, and the common factors model is integrated into the theory. A special emphasis on evidence-based practice helps readers prepare for their work in the field.
Handbook of DSM-5 Disorders in Children and Adolescents by
This handbook synthesizes and integrates the science of internalizing and externalizing childhood disorders with the diagnostic structure of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual - 5th Edition (DSM-5) of the American Psychiatric Association. It offers a comprehensive overview of DSM-5 disorders in childhood, covering etiology, symptom presentation, assessment methods, diagnostic criteria, and psychotherapeutic and pharmacological approaches to treatment, prognosis, and outcomes. Clinical vignettes and empirical insights illustrate key concepts and diagnostic and treatment issues such as developmental, cultural, gender, and other considerations that may influence diagnosis and case formulation. In addition, chapters on psychosocial therapies offer robust guidelines for working with children and adolescents with DSM-5 disorders. The Handbook also addresses the shift from categorical to dimensional, diagnostic, and treatment systems, particularly focusing on the current shift in funded research in childhood disorders. Topics featured in this Handbook include: Intellectual disabilities and global developmental delay. Depressive disorders in youth. Posttraumatic and acute stress disorders in childhood and adolescence. Autism spectrum and social pragmatic language disorders. Alcohol-related disorders and other substance abuse disorders. Parent-child and sibling relationships. Cognitive-behavioral interventions and their role in improving social skills. The Handbook of DSM-5 Disorders in Children and Adolescents is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, professionals, and scientist-practitioners in clinical child and school psychology, pediatrics, social work, and educational psychology.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by 
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by
"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy is a two-volume source that traces theory and examines the beginnings of counseling and psychotherapy all the way to current trends and movements. This reference work draws together a team of international scholars that examine the global landscape of all the key counseling and psychotherapy theories and the theorists behind them while presenting them in context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. This is a quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the "who, what, where, how, and why" of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. From historical context in which the theories were developed to the theoretical underpinnings which drive the theories, this reference encyclopedia has detailed and relevant information for all individuals interested in this subject matter. Features & Benefits: Approximately 335 signed entries fill two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of counseling to help students put individual theories within a broader context. A Master Bibliography and a Resource Guide to key books, journals, and organizations guide students to further resources beyond the encyclopedia. The Reader's Guide, a detailed Index and the Cross References combine for effective search-and-browse in the e-version and helps students take the next steps in their research journeys. This reference encyclopedia serves as an excellent source for any individual interested in the roots of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. It is ideal for the public and professionals, as well as for students in counselor education programs especially those individuals who are pursuing a Masters level degree.
Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation and Mental Health Professionals by
The only text about counseling theories and techniques developed specifically for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and practitioners, this book is now fully updated with a focus on evidence-based practice. It reflects the great strides made in incorporating research-based knowledge into counseling/therapy interventions since the first edition's publication nearly 10 years ago. The book disseminates the expertise of many of the most esteemed leaders and academic scholars in rehabilitation counseling. These authors emphasize state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of various counseling approaches and techniques for people with and without disabilities. New topics include evidence-based practice related to counseling/psychotherapy and motivational interviewing. Methodologies include person-centered counseling, solution-focused brief therapy, gestalt therapy, cognitive and behavioral therapies, psychodynamic therapy, and an Adlerian approach. The book describes basic counseling skills for rehabilitation, including motivational interviewing, group procedures, family counseling, and career and vocational counseling. Also addressed are counseling for individuals with substance abuse disorders, physical disabilities, psychiatric disabilities, and multicultural issues in counseling. Additionally, the book covers such professional issues as supervision in rehabilitation settings and managing risk. Case studies highlight the application of theories and techniques, and each chapter also includes learning objectives and discussion exercises. Accompanying ancillaries include an instructor's manual containing a sample syllabus, an item bank for developing quizzes and exams, and classroom exercises, and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter. The text also serves as a valuable reference for rehabilitation and related health professions such as nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech and language therapy, and social work. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Emphasizes state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of leading rehabilitation counseling theories and techniques Focuses on counseling theories and techniques regarding rehabilitation and health and chronic illness and disability Serves as a text for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and a reference for rehabilitation counseling professionals Includes new chapters on evidence-based practice regarding counseling and therapy and motivational interviewing Instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations Fong Chan, PhD, CRC, received his PhD in rehabilitation counseling psychology from the University of Wisconsin√ Madison in 1983. He is a full professor and director of clinical training (PhD Rehabilitation Psychology Program) in the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education, University of Wisconsin√ Madison. He is also the codirector of the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Evidence-Based Vocational Rehabilitation Practices. Before joining the faculty at University of Wisconsin√ Madison in 1992, he was on the faculty in the Department of Psychology at the Illinois Institute of Technology for 4 years and the Department of Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for 5 years. He is a certified rehabilitation counselor, a licensed psychologist, and a fellow in the American Psychological Association. Dr. Chan has more than 30 years of experience conducting applied rehabilitation research in the topical areas of psychosocial interventions, demand-side employment, transition and postsecondary education, evidence-based practice, and research methodologies. Dr. Chan has published over 250 refereed journal articles and book chapters. In addition, he is the editor of four textbooks: Case Management for Rehabilitati
Language and Narratives in Counseling and Psychotherapy by
This is a useful book with carefully condensed material that will be useful to beginning counselors and other helping professionals. It takes a large and complex literature base and shakes it down to some core useful concepts that will whet the beginning student's appetite." Rita Sommers-Flanagan, PhD Professor/Chair, Department of Counselor Education , University of Montana Narrative and language-based therapies help clients to see their presenting problems as separate from themselves through the assumption that they have many skills and competencies that will enable them to reduce the influence of problems in their lives. This highly accessible, step-by-step guide to incorporating principles of narrative and language-based approaches to therapy into practice demystifies these techniques for therapists and counselors in training. Illustrated with concrete examples and findings from empirical research, the text helps readers to understand the importance of language and narrative in the therapeutic alliance and to apply language- and narrative-based principles in counseling and psychotherapy. In a concise, straightforward format designed to facilitate student learning, each chapter describes a set of related principles and practices that encompasses counselor/student dialogues, in-depth discussion of each principle, the empirical bases for these principles and practices, and student assignments that foster additional learning. The book also discusses the theoretical and philosophical foundation of narrative therapies including developments in emotion science and word use research and their translation to counseling practice. Key Features: Provides step-by-step techniques for putting the principles of narrative and language-based therapies into practice Demystifies narrative and language-based approaches to therapy for therapists and counselors in training Presents concepts in the format of essential guidelines, building from basic ideas to more complex and advanced principles Includes empirical research to demonstrate validity of the principles of narrative and language-based therapies Contains counselor/student dialogues and assignments to foster additional learning
Psychology of Counseling by
This text deals increasingly with a significant challenge related to the development of virtuous circularity between scientifically based methodological frameworks and perspectives of interventions and innovation both on theoretical and applicative levels. The present volume is characterised by a review of current theoretical perspectives, research and intervention in the field of psychology of counselling according to an international point of view.
