CTRL: Professional Counseling: Home

American Counseling Association Journals

There are several journals that support current research, particularly The Journal of Counseling and Development.

Grace Library provides access to this resource through Wiley Online Library. You can discover more recommended resources below or by exploring our Journal Finder.

Recommended journal titles from the American Counseling Association:

Counseling Today, the monthly magazine of the the American Counseling Association, covers a wide variety of topics. Below are some recent cover stories:

Finding Journal Articles

Research for professional counseling will often begin with by reviewing current literature. There are four subject-specific databases you will consider searching:

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field, including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars and the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, educators and students alike.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is a database containing scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles for research in the nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health fields as well as in seventeen allied health disciplines. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full-text access for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL and over 1,000 active open access journals.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers. MEDLINE Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

You may also find articles in a multidisciplinary database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and citations from nearly all areas of academic study including science, psychology, literature, philosophy and many more fields. Includes access to over 7,000 full-text non-open access journals.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming videos from a wide range of subject areas, including American studies, art, design, diversity, health sciences, history, literature, language, music, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, engineering, social sciences, and more.

Professional Counseling

Librarian

Questions?

Library Hours

24/7 Access:

American Counseling Association Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Research for professional counseling will often begin with by reviewing current literature. There are four subject-specific databases you will consider searching: