Skip to Main Content

Research Methodology: Instrumentation, Reviews, and Trials

This guide is an introduction to research methods. In it, you will find explanations of key terms; tools for finding controlled trials, research instruments, and systematic reviews; and suggestions on how to evaluate them.

Introduction

Research instruments are tools for collecting and measuring qualitative and quantitative data. Examples include the following: Assessments, questionnaires, scales, surveys, and tests. While locating these resources can be challenging, familiarizing yourself with this guide's content will make this aspect of doing research a more streamlined and efficient process.

Qualitative Research

Qualitative research refers to "studies in which data are collected and coded as words." (Beginning Quantitative Research)

Quantitative Research

Quantitative research refers to "investigations in which the data that are collected and coded are expressible by numbers." (Beginning Quantitative Research)

Mixed Methods

Mixed methods research refers to research that uses "both quantitative and qualitative approaches." (Beginning Quantitative Research)

Finding Research Instruments

Here we look at how to find research instruments using the library databases.

You can trust research instruments to be presented with as little bias as possible, to be evidence-based, and to be peer-reviewed. They will provide you with validated tools for investigating a research question.

This guide does not provide instructions on how to develop your research instrument, but rather how you can find the research instruments others have put together.

Browsing CINAHL for Nursing Research Instruments

In this section, we will look at how to improve your nursing research instrument searches using CINAHL. Following a few key steps will greatly improve your search results, as well as provide you with the necessary tools to conduct this research independtly.

  1. Navigate to the Grace Library website
  2. Select A-Z Databases from the Grace Library website
  3. Select CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    • Please note: attempting to access Grace Library's database off campus will prompt you to enter your Carlow username and password
  4. Click on the button entitled "CINAHL Subject Headings"
  5. Type "research instruments" into the search bar
  6. Click on the "Research Instruments" link
  7. Browse the results
  8. Evaluate the resource(s)

Searching CINAHL for Nursing Research Instruments

In this section, we will look at how to improve your nursing research instrument searches using CINAHL. Following a few key steps will greatly improve your search results, as well as provide you with the necessary tools to conduct this research independtly.

  1. Navigate to the Grace Library website
  2. Select A-Z Databases from the Grace Library website
  3. Select CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    • Please note: attempting to access Grace Library's database off campus will prompt you to enter your Carlow username and password
  4. Click on the dropdown menu entitled "Select a Field (optional)"
  5. Choose "IN Instrumentation" from the list of choices
  6. Enter your search term(s) into the search bar
  7. Conduct your search
  8. Evaluate the resource(s)

 

Searching PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO for Nursing Research Instruments

In this section, we will look at how to improve your nursing research instrument searches using PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO. Since the two function in the same way, the same search strategies apply when using either of these databases. Following a few key steps will greatly improve your search results, as well as provide you with the necessary tools to conduct this research independently.

  1. Navigate to the Grace Library website
  2. Select A-Z Databases from the Grace Library website
  3. Select PsycARTICLES or PsycINFO
    • Please note: attempting to access Grace Library's databases off campus will prompt you to enter your Carlow username and password
  4. Click on the dropdown menu entitled "Select a Field (optional)"
  5. Choose "TM Tests & Measures"
  6. Enter your search term(s) into the search bar
  7. Conduct your search
  8. Evaluate the resource(s)
  9. (For PsycINFO only) Locate the article about which the abstract is written using another resource (for instance, PsycARTICLES)