CTRL: Counseling Psychology: Home

Finding Journal Articles

Research for counseling psychology will often begin with by reviewing current literature. There are four subject-specific databases you will consider searching:

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field, including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars and the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, educators and students alike.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature includes articles that describe mental health services and treatment.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, pharmaceutical, and mental health articles and citations.

You may also find articles in a multidisciplinary database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles and citations from nearly all areas of study, including psychology.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming videos from a wide range of subject areas, including American studies, art, design, diversity, health sciences, history, literature, language, music, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, engineering, social sciences, and more.

The Counseling Psychologist and other specific journal titles

There are several journals that support current research, particularly The Counseling Psychologist.

Grace Library owns this journal in the print and electronic formats. To view the electronic version go to our A-Z Journal Finder and type in the title of the journal. From the Journal Finder, you will see what databases or subscriptions we have to the electronic journal, as well as a list of what years we have access to on each platform. You will also see a list of what years we hold in print.

Recommended journal titles from the American Psychological Association:

Recommended journal titles from the American Counseling Association:

Counseling Psychology

Questions?

Library Hours

24/7 Access:

Finding Journal Articles

Research for counseling psychology will often begin with by reviewing current literature. There are four subject-specific databases you will consider searching:

The Counseling Psychologist and other specific journal titles