AccessMedicine

The Big Picture: Medical Biochemistry is a great resource to target what you really need to know to ace the course exams and the USMLE Step 1

300 Full Color Illustrations

Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is a unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions. Those preparing for the USMLE, residents, as well as clinicians who desire a better understanding of the biochemistry behind a particular pathology will find this book to be an essential reference. Featuring succinct, to-the-point text, more than 300 full-color illustrations, and a variety of learning aids, Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is designed to make complex concepts understandable in the shortest amount of time possible.

This full-color combination text and atlas features:

• Progressive chapters that allow you to build upon what you’ve learned in a logical, effective manner
• Chapter Overviews that orient you to the important concepts covered in that chapter
• Numerous tables and illustrations that clarify and encapsulate the text
• Sidebars covering a particular disease or treatment add clinical relevance to topic discussed
• Essay-type review questions at the end of each chapter allow you to assess your comprehension of the major topics
• USMLE-style review questions at the end of each section
• Three appendices, including examples of biochemically based diseases, a review of basic biochemical techniques, and a review of organic chemistry/biochemistry

COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide

• Healthcare providers around the world have been faced with the most challenging pandemic of their lifetime.  As of the writing of this post, there have been over 200,000,000 cases of COVID-19 across the world with over 4,000,000 associated mortalities.  Healthcare providers, scientists, and researchers have worked endlessly to seek treatments and develop vaccines against the relentless virus, yet cases and mortalities continue to rise.
• COVID-19 and the Heart: A Case-Based Pocket Guide is a first edition text that seeks to guide the medical practitioner in making adequate clinical judgement quickly with respect to the cardiac manifestations of COVID-19 disease. The book is divided into chapters based on genuine clinical cases with a proposed approach for each case.
• This text offers 10 robust, real-world case scenarios focusing on cardiac manifestations of COVID-19, with a depth and richness of context not offered by other competitors.  Examples of cases include: COVID-19 and Cardiac Arrhythmias, COVID-19 and Cardiogenic Shock, and COVID-19 and Acute Coronary Syndrome.  In efforts to promote end-user engagement and access to the best resources in medicine, we are making this text freely available for a limited time.

Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, 9/e

For nearly half a century, Fitzpatrick’s has been recognized worldwide as the field of dermatology’s cornerstone text. This trusted classic covers all of the essentials, from the basic science of the skin to the day-to-day clinical issues of managing common skin disorders. Backed by the expertise of more than 500 world-renowned contributors, it is the reference of choice for clinicians, students, and educators. Fitzpatrick’s skillful blending of science and clinical medicine is matched only by its scope, level of detail, and quality of presentation.

The 9th edition continues this tradition of excellence with sweeping changes designed to make it even more relevant to today’s practice and education. 

New editors diverse in expertise and international in location of practice have endeavored to build on the achievements of previous editions, while providing fresh insight into the content and new thinking regarding optimal structure of the book.

Reorganized and updated content with important general basic science concepts extensively covered in dedicated chapters appearing at the beginning of the book, allowing subsequent clinical chapters to focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, in addition to clinical features, diagnosis, clinical course, and management.

Unmatched visual presentation includes more than 3,000 illustrations, including more than 2,700 full-color photographs; all tables and At-a-Glance boxes are either new or completely revised.

An improved index to speed you to the information you require about a concept, condition, or therapy.

Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/e 

A Doody's Core Title for 2019!

More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care.

One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 8/e combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment.

Features:

• Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition
• A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease
• ICD-10 codes are included for each disease
• Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy
• Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations

Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, 10e

A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments.

Greenspan’s Basic Clinical Endocrinology, 10/e, delivers a succinct leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan’s is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology endocrinology rotation or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan’s provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes, mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan. 

Here’s why Greenspan’s is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients:

• The 10th edition is enhanced by updated content throughout with new chapters:
  • Transgender Endocrinology and Disorders of Sexual Determination and Differentiation 
  • Evidence-Based Endocrinology and Clinical Epidemiology
• Concise balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles that guide patient management
• The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making 
• The most practical current insights into diagnostic testing
• More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs

Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e

The gold-standard text on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly completely updated with a new full-color presentation.

A  Doody's Core Title for 2019!

The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world’s most respected geriatricians, Hazzard’s Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e, presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich  new full-color design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine.

Hazzards’s Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7/e, is logically divided into five parts: Principles of Gerontology, Principles of Geriatrics, Geriatric Syndromes, Principles of Palliative Medicine, and Organ Systems and Diseases.  Within its pages, you will find balanced, authoritative coverage of every essential topic – from evaluation and management to nutrition and palliative medicine. 

Here’s why the 7th edition is the best edition ever:

• New full-color design with hundreds of color photographs
• New chapters: Quality of Care in Older Adults, Common Non-Pain Symptoms in Older Adults, Strategies of Effective  Communication Around Advanced Illness, Palliative Medicine in the Continuum of Care Including Hospice, Coagulation Disorders, and Plasma Cell Disorders
• More chapters on Palliative Medicine
• New Learning Objectives and Key Points added to each chapter
• More tables, drawings, and clinical algorithms
• Evidence-based through the use of the latest clinical practice guidelines , references to systemic reviews, and critically appraised topics
• Updated to reflect the most current clinical breakthroughs and advances for managing older adults in various settings

Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 16/e:

This user-friendly text and atlas combination is filled with clear explanations, art, and micrographs to elucidate key concepts and facilitate learning.

For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more.

Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance.

Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology—and there is nothing else like it.

Features:

• Self-test questions in every chapter
• Key points and summary tables highlight key content
• Clinical correlations presented with each topic
• Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology
• Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures
• Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains
• Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online
• Links to Junqueira micrographs

Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28/e

Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions.

Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. 

Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections.

Here’s why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: 

• 640+ USMLE-style review questions 
• 350+ illustrations 
• 140+ tables
• 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills 
• An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms 
• Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies 
• Full-color images and micrographs 
• Chapter-ending summaries 
• Chapter concept checks

Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg’s Medical Microbiology, 28/e, effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective. 

Pathology: A Modern Case Study, 2/e

A unique case-based molecular approach to understanding pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study is a concise, focused text that emphasizes the molecular and cellular biology essential to understanding the concepts of disease causation. The book includes numerous case studies designed to highlight the role of the pathologist in the team that provides patient care. Pathology: A Modern Case Study examines the role of anatomic, clinical, and molecular pathologists in dedicated chapters and in descriptions of the pathology of specific organ systems.

Features:

• Coverage of pathology focuses on modern approaches to common and important diseases
• Each chapter delivers the most up-to-date advances in pathology
• Learning aids include chapter summaries and overviews, bolded terms, and a glossary
• Common clinically relevant disease are highlighted
• Disease discussion is based on organ compartment and etiology Coverage includes:
• Disease and the Genome: Genetic, Developmental and Neoplastic Disease
• Cell Injury, Death and Aging and the Body's Response
• Environmental Injury
• Clinical Practice: Anatomic Pathology
• Clinical Practice: Molecular Pathology
• Clinical Practice: Molecular Pathology
• Organ-specific pathology covering all major body systems
• Molecular pathology

Essential for undergraduate medical students and clinicians who wish to expand their knowledge pathology, Pathology: A Modern Case Study delivers valuable coverage that is directly related to a patient’s condition and the clinical practice of pathology.

Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8/e 

A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems with more than 130 case studies, including Q&A.

A Doody’s Core Title for 2019! 

The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.

Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. 

This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.

New features and updates to this edition:

• Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book’s 24 chapters
• More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors
• Totally revised chapter on neoplasia
• New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies
• New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease
• New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment
• Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy
• Updated references throughout the book

Emotion in the Clinical Encounter

The foundational knowledge and practical actions you need to effectively address your patients’ emotions—and manage your own.

Emotions are ever-present in the context of illness and medical care and can have an enormous impact on the well-being of patients and healthcare providers alike. Despite this impact, emotions are often devalued in a medical culture that praises stoicism and analytical reasoning. Featuring the latest theories and research on emotion in healthcare, this much-needed resource will help you build the necessary skillset to navigate the extraordinary emotional demands of practicing medicine.  

Emotion in the Clinical Encounter will help you:

• Learn the science of emotion, as it relates to clinical care
• Understand the role of emotion in illness
• Recognize the connection between clinical response to patient emotions and
  care outcomes
• Develop effective strategies for emotion recognition
• Build strong emotional dialogue skills for medical encounters
• Identify biases that may shape clinical interactions and subsequent outcomes
• Understand emotion regulation in patients, providers, and in the clinical relationship
• Address challenges and opportunities for clinical emotional wellness
• Identify a new path forward for delivering emotion-based medical school curricula

Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4/e

A Doody’s Core Title for 2021! 

Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration.

Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as:

• Patient Education
• Motivating for behavior change
• Breaking bad news
• Managing different personality types
• Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice
• Nonverbal communication
• Using computers in the exam room
• Reporting and presenting evaluations

The book’s user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention.

In the Books tab in AccessMedicine, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Textbooks, chapters, and chapter sections are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. Check out the library at these links:

Check out the library at these links:

• Complete Full-Text Library
• ​Archived Textbooks
  • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessMedicine for purposes of reference.

Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, 26/e

A Doody’s Core Title for 2021! 

For more than four decades, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong’s concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. 

Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology.

• More than 600 full-color illustrations
• Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style
• NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts
• NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text 

Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-Of-Care Ultrasound

A unique pocket guide to the use of ultrasound at the point of care.

Lately, there has been an enormous amount of interest in the use of ultrasound for both procedural and diagnostic guidance at the point of care. Understanding that physicians both in practice and in training have limited time, Pocket Guide to POCUS has been intentionally and thoughtfully designed to be a portable quick reference to real-world clinical situations.

Pocket Guide to POCUS provides tips and reminders for issues and challenges encountered at the point of care. Questions such as what images to acquire, and how to get them are addressed as well as a quick glance at pathology in comparison to a normal image. For learners at all levels, this pocket guide will minimize the angst of scanning and prevent some of the more common pitfalls the authors have observed over their more than 50 cumulative years’ experience.

Each chapter of the book is divided into four sections:

• Key Images
• Acquisition Tips
• Interpretation and Pitfalls
• Examples of Pathology

This information is conveniently located on cards that can be removed from the book and brought with you to the bedside. You can take notes on the cards, check off the scans that you’ve done, and of course, refer to them in order to provide your patients with the best care possible. 

Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health & Preventive Medicine, 16/e

Now in full color, the #1 text spanning the fields of public health and preventive medicine brings you fully up to date on the issues and topics you need to know.

Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine has been updated and revised for the first time in more than a decade. This highly anticipated and extensive edition provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health.

The most comprehensive resource of its kind, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine is the clear choice for anyone seeking a career in public health.

Features:

• Edited and written by a who's who of global experts
• 384 photos and illustrations
• New full-color format and improved artwork
• Significantly expanded coverage of diseases and preventive methods common in international markets
• Greater use of tables and summary lists for easier reading and retention

Principles of Critical Care, 4/e

Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the critically ill patient with guidance from the field's definitive text.

A Doody's Core Title for 2019!

"…Clearly the finest textbook available in the field." -- Critical Care Medicine

"…Very well done…unusually user-friendly…excellent…a significant contribution to the field. It should be placed not only in the critical care practitioner's library, but also in the rounds and nurses' conference rooms of critical care units." -- Journal of the American Medical Association

Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies.

The fourth edition is highlighted by:

• A new full-color presentation
• New chapters on ICU Ultrasound, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, ICU-Acquired Weakness, Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, and Judging the Adequacy of Intravascular Volume
• The addition of many new figures and diagnostic and treatment algorithms
• In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses
• A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient’s specific condition
• The integration of pathophysiology throughout the text
• Content that reflects today’s interdisciplinary approach to critical care medicine

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3/e

The updated visual atlas of family medicine—enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations

A Doody’s Core Title for 2019!

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3/e, simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book’s precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text—ideal for time-pressed physicians.

Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. 

New to this edition:

• New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues  
• New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter
• New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques
• Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies

CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment: Family Medicine, 5/e

An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. New content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification, this text is essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants.

Features:

• Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years
• Evidence-based recommendations
• Conservative and pharmacologic therapies
• Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant
• Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers
• Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions
• Recognition of impact of illness on the family
• Patient education information
• End-of-life issues

Huppert's Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine

Bridge the gap between pathophysiology and clinical medicine in a succinct outline of core internal medicine topics!

Originally created and road-tested by a resident and then updated by a team of resident authors, Huppert’s Notes succinctly organizes the foundational science covered early in medical school and the clinical approaches encountered in clerkships and beyond. This marriage of pathophysiology and clinical medicine provides a framework for how to approach internal medicine concepts mechanistically, rather than through memorization.  

You’ll find concise descriptions of common medical conditions with diagnostic and management pearls, as well as high-yield diagrams and tables to emphasize key concepts. Covering all internal medicine subspecialties, each Huppert’s Notes chapter is organized in an intuitive and consistent outline format for rapid access:

• Anatomy & Physiology
• Diagnostics
• Approaches & Chief Complaints
• Diseases & Pathophysiology
• Key Medications & Interventions
• Key Clinical Trials & Publications
• Space for your personal notes

Understanding Telehealth

The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth. 

From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients’ and clinicians’ fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field—until now. 

Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more. 

Features:

• Chapters cover a broad spectrum of technologies, evidence-based guidelines, and application of telehealth across the healthcare continuum 
• Ideal for medical staff, public healthcare executives, hospitals, clinics, payors, healthcare advocates, and researchers alike
• Incisive coverage of the legal and regulatory environment underpinning telehealth practice

Harrison's Manual of Medicine, 20/e

The Harrison’s Manual, derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e, delivers numerous clinical algorithms in one practical, portable resource. The manual also includes abundant quick reference tables, plus concise text---providing rapid access to bedside information when decisions need to be made quickly. This full color summary guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in inpatient general medicine, so you can be sure to find invaluable content directly to your workflow and practice.

The 20th edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine.

The manual truly makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters cover symptoms/signs, medical emergencies, specific diseases, and care of the hospitalized patient, with a particular focus on: 

• Etiology and Epidemiology
• Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology
• Signs and Symptoms
• Differential Diagnosis
• Physical and Laboratory Findings
• Therapeutics
• Practice Guidelines, and more

In-depth summaries provide information on the key features of the diagnosis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of the major diseases that are likely to be encountered in medical practice. Also, extensive medical breakdowns are featured covering:

• Etiology and Epidemiology
• Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology
• Signs and Symptoms
• Differential Diagnosis
• Physical and Laboratory Findings
• Therapeutics
• Practice Guidelines.

DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11/e

The classic point-of-care guide to the undifferentiated patient - enhanced with even more color photographs Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination takes readers a step beyond elementary physical diagnosis. DeGowin's covers all physical examination techniques and procedures, but this highly practical point-of-care guide goes further, focusing on the meaning of signs and symptoms. It also shows readers how to catalog clinical findings resulting from the physical examination-and order them into a differential diagnosis. This classic text is unrivaled in its comprehensive coverage of differential diagnosis, organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes. This edition reflects the latest developments in the evidence-based physical examination The perfect bride text between physical exam textbooks and clinical medicine textbooks.

Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7/e

A concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis.

Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4/e

An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine. Symptom to Diagnosis, 4/e, teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment; Enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, and questions that direct evaluation; Each chapter is built around patient cases that illustrate essential concepts; Clinical pearls appear in every chapter. The content structure of our best-selling text Symptom to Diagnosis, 4e by Stern et al. has been digitally optimized for a better user experience on AccessMedicine and is now live!  The new presentation has been tested by medical students; they validated that the fantastic kernels of content, previously buried on ACM, can now be located quickly to help users with differential diagnosis. This is the second major title that has been optimized for a more efficient digital experience following the successful results of CMDT 2020.

Understanding Healthcare Delivery Science:

This new text touches on policy issues but expands coverage to practical structural, analytic, data, and research methods used to improve the delivery of healthcare. There has always been a big gap between the people who deliver healthcare and those who study ways to improve healthcare. That is what this book is about. It includes super practical chapters and features that allow readers at all levels to develop a whole new set of tools to improve healthcare delivery whether they are on the delivery side or on the systems science side. 

The book is divided into three Parts: Defining Healthcare Delivery Science; Tools to Improve Healthcare Delivery; and How to Use Analytics in Healthcare. The book includes excellent practical features to aid learning and retention, including Case Examples; Key Points; Cautions; and Links to External Resources. 

The audience for this new book includes medical education and training; NP and PA education; allied health; health administration and leadership; and undergraduate programs in heath management which are spreading rapidly.

CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022

The most popular annual guide of its kind—fully revised and updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of medicine.

For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series, has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. 

CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You’ll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice.
Features:

• 320 images
• Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices
• Includes an annual review of advances in HIV treatment
• Includes Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders
• Diagnostic/treatment algorithms present critical information in an at-a-glance format
• Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information
• "Electronic only" chapters available to all book customers, not just to CMDT online subscribers
• Expanded chapter content available online and in ebook for all chapter content

Check out the upcoming Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21/e, online ahead of print on AccessMedicine!

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e

With more than 68 years in publication, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, 20/e, is trusted by generations of students and clinicians to maintain the ideal balance between the scientific basis of signs and symptoms and the clinical management of the patient, ensuring you deliver the best, most accurate care possible. Harrison’s landmark 20th edition is the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine.

Watch this video highlighting the 20th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th edition features:

• The latest clinical trials results and treatment recommendations which harnesses breakthrough thinking and techniques from the experts driving the most pioneering advances in medicine.
• The most complete revision of any edition with 500 new and updated chapters in general and specialty medicine.
• Cutting-edge coverage of pathophysiology linking disease mechanisms to treatments and enabling better patient outcomes.

Support for differential diagnosis with details on causes of symptoms:

• The fully updated part on Cardinal Manifestations of Disease enables the most accurate and efficient differential diagnoses and treatments by explaining the underlying physiologic, anatomical, and biochemical changes that result in the outward expression of signs and symptoms.

New part on frontiers in medicine:

• Covers cutting-edge topics such as epigenetics, genomics and infectious disease, telomere function, and more.

Timely new chapters:

• Include Promoting Good Health, LGBT Health, Systems of Healthcare, Approach to Medical Consultation, Pharmacogenomics, Antimicrobial Resistance, Worldwide Changes in Patterns of Infectious Diseases, Neuromyelitis Optica, and more.

1,600 visual elements:

• Including state of- the-art drawings, schematics, radiological images, clinical visuals, and microscopic depictions, provide clinical guidance at-a-glance.

End-of-chapter suggested readings:

• Provide references carefully selected by the expert contributors.

Bonus online content:

• Such as videos, atlases, high-yield pathophysiology animations, and supplementary chapters.

Learn on-the-go with the Harrison's App now available for download in the App Store and Google Play.

Diagnostic and Imaging Studies includes over 30,000 world-class images useful for diagnosis that can be downloaded. We have more than 70 video clips of foundational diagnostic and imaging studies in five different specialties.

Harrison’s Pathophysiology Animations explain complex pathophysiology concepts in new and beautifully animated, easy-to-understand brief videos. Each episode covers a disease mechanism. Running time of each is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the University of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking in other medical animations.

Harrison’s Podclass provides illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed Harrison’s Self-Assessment and Board Review. The episodes are a user-friendly 4-8 minutes in length. AccessMedicine is mobile optimized, so you can open in a browser and listen on-the-go. Currently features over 100 new audio and podclasses.

Human Anatomy Modules:

These interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both Male Complete Anatomy Module and Female Complete Anatomy Module can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.

Anatomy Module Features:

Expand: Provide your learners with more space to immerse in your interactive 3D experience with our new Expand mode. When embedded on desktop or Android (not available on iOS), learners can now expand the browser to span the entire screen without having to leave your page or open a new tab.

Tools: We're introducing a dedicated, and more scalable, toolbar that will promote exploration of the 3D model. "Dissect" is now called "Hide," and we're now giving users access to the "Fade" effect from Human Studio which will allow you to make a structure transparent. Dissection for removal by layers and structures, object tree, tools to identify and rotate.

Help: We've dramatically improved our "Help" experience with richer graphics that show learners on how to interact with the model and a comprehensive 3D interaction key that changes based on the device the learner is using (desktop or mobile).

Anatomy Descriptions: Learners will now have the option of reading more about specific anatomical structures as they explore. When available, individual structures will be linked to Wikipedia descriptions, which are generally sourced from Gray's Anatomy.

Anatomy Search: Learners will now be able to search for specific anatomical structures in your model by name or browse through all of the structures contained in the model in the Anatomy Tree. They can then click on the name to locate and zoom in on the structure in the model. The Anatomy Tree is now contained within the new Anatomy Search tool (right side of the search bar, tree icon).

Reset: Refresh the 3D model without having to reload the page.

Human Anatomy Tours:

• These focused, 3-D modules guide medical students through systems-based tours of the human anatomy, helping them to learn human anatomy in a systems-based, interactive format. Launching with 7 modules/tours, additional modules/tours will continue to be added to the collection throughout the year.
• A number of enhancements have been made to existing modules to make them more dynamic. For example, the Endocrine System tour now demonstrates thyroid hormone release.
• Each module features roughly 7-10 slides.

Regional Anatomy and Focused Anatomy Modules:

• The BioDigital System Modules are live on AccessMedicine.  This is a collection of hundreds of interactive, 3-D modules designed to deliver a focused learning experience while also offering a deep-dive into our core foundational textbooks.
• Users navigate to the modules from the Multimedia dropdown on the AccessMedicine homepage by first clicking "Human Anatomy Modules".
• The user will then be taken to the BioDigital System Modules landing page which displays multiple specialties with hundreds of modules. 
• After selecting a module, the user will note that each module is 3D. Each module is accompanied by text that was selected individually for the module by a SME from one of our foundational textbooks. The user can choose to view the reading in context if they would like a deeper-dive.

Lectures are ready-to-view or ready-to-assign for a flipped classroom pedagogy, an online course, or as a knowledge refresher. Pharmacology lecture videos are also located under “Multimedia”, then “Pharmacology”. These lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Patient Interview Videos are of high quality and demonstrate how to communicate with patients in challenging and unusual situations. This resource addresses some of the “softer skills” in medical education and helps to teach emotional intelligence.

Patient Safety Modules will provide you with an introduction to the core concepts of patient safety in an interactive and self-paced learning environment. The current course includes three modules. Each module can be used as a stand-alone tool or as a component of a broader curriculum in patient safety. We strongly recommend that you work through each module (navigable on the left) from beginning to end because the concepts will build on each other within a single unit. The modules include activity buttons and video clips, so please be sure to explore the content available which will help you understand these concepts in your own role within the healthcare system.

Pharmacology video lectures include the pharmacology topics of cardiovascular and neurology drugs and basic pharmacotherapeutics concepts.

Physical Exam videos is a complete collection for the physical exam organized into categories from head to toe.

Procedural videos are available in AccessMedicine. It is the most complete collection of detailed procedural videos online designed to help users through basic and advanced skills procedures, brief interventions, and applications of decision rules. The videos are organized by different categories, such examination and evaluation, physiologic areas.

S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast provides a case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.

​​​​​​​Run the List Podcast:

• A medical education podcast designed for medical students, new residents, and all learners looking for a high-yield review in internal medicine. Concise episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management, and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.
• Run the List is a popular and established podcast for the medical and healthcare education and training communities. It has earned numerous excellent reviews from listeners for its comprehensive and high-yield discussions on core medicine topics. Episodes are arranged and released in the form of specialty blocks, making it an excellent resource for all those taking care of patients on the internal medicine ward, whether during clerkship, elective, or general training. Each 20-minute episode takes the listener through the practical aspects of diagnosis and management through an interactive discussion with an expert who has a specific focus in medical education.
• The mission of the host team is timely and on point, to provide “a succinct, high-yield resource that covers the initial steps in clinical decision-making and management of common problems for which patients are admitted to the hospital. While there are multiple available resources that prepare students and trainees to ace exams, there are far fewer that focus on more practical advice for the wards.”
• New episodes posted every two weeks.